Bark! The Herald Angels Sing…

Front Door Christmas

Our stockings are hung on a stocking holder (we don’t have a chimney) with [some] care…the boys are patiently waiting for St. Nick to go there.

Bigs has actually been singing “Happy Birthday to Jesus” all week. It’s great. He really seems quite interested in celebrating our Savior’s birth.

Joy to the World

It’s always tough (I’m finding) to balance Elf on a Shelf, Santa, AND Jesus, so I am very grateful to see his interest in the REAL reason for this season.

So.

Today is the countdown to Christmas – one week. Eeeeek! Are you “ready”? Are you ever ready?

Our Duncan showed up again!

20131216_200815

He got into some candy, that rascal.

20131217_200647

And then he got into my Glögg (a Scandinavian Christmas mulled wine). What a cheeky little fella.

Yesterday afternoon, I heard my boys’ muffled (but loud) voices and lots of giggles coming from the dining room. That usually means trouble of some sort. But this time, they were being so cute (and quite creative!).

Boys

They were huddled in the corner of the dining room, talking into the wall, their voices amplified as if a microphone were used. They were so cute! I love when they use their imaginations (Bigs was saying, “whole milk” into the wall corner, for the record).

My husband is now on a maybe temporary gluten-free and lactose-free diet, due to his Crohn’s Disease and has, obviously, had to change many things he eats. Since he is unable to eat the same Christmas cookies we’ve had (Guess I’ll just have to eat his share…I’d HATE for some to go to waste…), I decided to make his favorite treat – peppermint bark. It’s both gluten and lactose-free, anyways.

The first attempt started off well (the fact that it is named “the first attempt” should be an indicator that it, in fact, didn’t turn out well).

I gathered my ingredients…mise en place all up in here…

20131218_120134

I put my chocolate chips in the tinfoil wrapped pan.

20131218_120223

I stuck the pan in a preheated 375 degree oven (thinking…quick melting).

Then, this happened.

20131218_122053

My chocolate (about a cup’s worth) seized up. I think I learned a valuable lesson here. Low and slow (just like BBQ) is the trick.

So I tried it again. This time, I put it in a 325 degree oven, for a shorter amount of time. Perfection. I smoothed the chocolate out. Then I realized that my peppermint pieces were too big, so I had to get out my mortar and pestle and go to work.

20131218_120725

Why can’t I do things right the first time!?

It’s okay. The bark turned out so beautiful. I think my husband will love it.

collage_20131218133757089_20131218133923188

I placed it in the fridge to set and then cut squares.

20131218_132810

Yes, indeed. They look profesh. Am I allowed to say that about my own stuff?

20131218_132746

They smell great. I am not a HUGE fan of chocolate and mint together (although sometimes I get a hankering).

20131218_133500

I think my husband will be really happy with the way these came out.

* I used about 1 C semi-sweet chocolate chips

So now I have about one cup of slightly burned seized up chocolate crumbles. Any ideas on how to use those? And for some bizarre reason, I am finding these crumbles all over my house and on my person. I have found them all over the kitchen and all over my laptop and obviously on my clothes and hands. I THOUGHT I contained them. What a nuisance!

Have a wonderful evening!

Countdown to Christmas: 7 Days!

Kristin

Leave a Reply

