Rearview Mirror

Be Happy Next Year

That’s a great goal, isn’t it? Just to be happy.

The stockings are put away, the gifts organized in their rightful spots (which they all have, obvi), the tree and its ornaments are all put away, the tinsel has been swept up. Christmas is over. As lovely as it was, I just love a fresh start. There is something so wonderful, so renewing about a New Year. I always get introspective around this time of year. I think back to how things have turned out, what I could have done differently, how I’ve grown as a person, how I can grow more.

Create in Me

We’ve been so busy since Christmas ended (us? busy? not us!!!). Bigs has been doing great on his “Woody Buzz” bike from Santa. It’s his first experience with a bike bike and he can ride it in a straight line with no deviation that doesn’t involve any steering or turning around all by himself (lol). Seriously though, I am very proud. It’s terribly cute!

PicsArt_1388364171941

It’s made even more cute with his Toy Story accessories and ever-present “Woody Buzz” boots.

PicsArt_1388364355658

And Smalls has been enjoying Bigs’ hand-me-down trike, riding it like a boss.

PicsArt_1388364027297

And I followed him around, “collecting” pictures of his glorious, golden, flouncy curls. I know those will be gone someday (probably the second I cut them, any chance of curl regrowth will be zero), so I am savoring and documenting those sweet, little, twirly coils.

PicsArt_1388363742853

Obsessed? Sure.

So….

We know what’s coming next. Those dreadful resolutions. I’ve mostly not stuck with the ones I’ve set out for myself. Like ever. Except MOSTLY I’ve made my bed every day. I think it makes the room look more put together. But sometimes I don’t even have time for that. As for other resolutions, I’ve even changed my tactic and changed the goals so that I don’t keep breaking the ones I know I’ll break. It seemed like that would work. But I’ve learned I’m just not cut out for resolution-keeping. At least I know myself.

With that said, here are my 2014 Resolutions (LOL):

1. To eat less of my own product and to share more. They must go hand in hand.

2. To be less stressed (Philippians 4:6-7).

3. To focus on the positive.

If it Keeps you from God

4. To get back to working out. <— I’ve seen that before!

5. To push myself to try new things (a new recipe [but, see #1], go somewhere new, take my kids to new experiences, thereby taking me out of my comfort zone, etc.)

6. To grow in my relationship with God and to continue to help foster that same relationship in my kids’ walk with Him.

7. To continue with my Daily Devotionals and referring to the Bible, which will be much easier with this adorbs Bible my husband got me for Christmas…Sprinkles on my Bible!

Sprinkles on my Bible

8. To always trust in God. For He alone has my path set out.

My Hope is Built on Nothing Less

So. Good luck to me. And you. If you’re doing resolutions, of course. And if you aren’t, may you find great success with your old ways. That must mean they are working.

New Years Subway Art

Do you have any New Year’s Eve or Day traditions?

As a kid growing up, my Mom would always make black eyed peas and greens (with ham hock) on New Year’s Day. She still does! It’s good luck, you know. Maybe this year, she’ll make extra and I can have some…Mom? Yes? 😉

Before kids, my husband and I were up until well past midnight. And after kids we were up until 12:00:01. And in recent years, I’ve had to be woken up to see the ball dropping. That will probably happen this year. I just can’t rally that late. And on NYE, Hubs and I always had a tradition to go to Perkin’s for dinner (I know I know… but don’t knock it until you try it though!!), but my husband’s job has required him to work until after our kids are in bed on NYE these past few years. So, now just me and the boys go to Perkin’s. And I love it. It’s a great way to end the year.

Maybe I’ll indulge in some Asti once they boys are sleeping. It’s my right.

Champs

Here’s to a very blessed, wonderful New Year!

Happy New Year 2

Blessings,

Kristin

Leave a Reply

