More [brie] cheese with my whine? Please?

Well. I had a different post ready to be shared, but you know how life is. It do what it wants. I mentioned in my last blog post that my baby son Smalls (okay, he’s 17 months, but will always be the baby of the family, plus he’s really tiny, so extra babyish…anywayssss) wasn’t feeling well. That puny feeling, unfortunately, continued for him through the night and weekend. We ended up having to take him into an after hours pediatric urgent care. His little fever turned into a respiratory thing that caused wheezing, shortness of breath and low oxygen levels, and continued higher fevers. After some nebulizing treatments, we went home with our tired, little, sick baby. The next morning he woke with what I knew was pink eye. Poor thing. We took him to his regular pediatrician and got him some medication for that and a steroid to help with his breathing. His horrible fevers seemed to give him a break tonight, for the first time in three days. We still have to give him breathing treatments at home (we have a nebulizer from when Bigs was little), but God is good. I know he’ll take care of our little sweetie.

20140111_162050

So, sadly, that’s been the end of the week and the weekend (having to skip church tomorrow, but we can watch it online!). Keep my Smalls in your prayers?

Thank you.

In an effort to relax (and also reward myself for my SIX DAYS OF NO DESSERT!! <–why on Earth did I feel that deserved, not one, but TWO exclamation points? It’s so sad!) Anyways, after putting my boys in bed, I made what I currently believe is Life’s Perfect Food: Baked Brie Bites.

IMG_20140111_085310

You may (or may not) recall that I had them at a Christmas party thrown by my friends. They are just divine.

20140111_200212

Something about brie always calls my name. I could eat a whole wheel of it. The big size. There is something about the oozey, gooey way it melts, taking hostage everything in its path, like hot lava.

20140111_201558

Something about the crunchy, delicate richness of the phyllo dough. Something about the tart dried cranberries.

20140111_201614

Something about the crunchy, earthy walnuts. And then put that all together with a bit of brown sugar. Something MAGICAL happens. I’m NOT KIDDING!

20140111_201622

Look at that bubbly, gooey, brown sugary cheeeeeese. Those crunchy walnuts!

20140111_201752

I meaaannnn. Look at those now caramelized cranberries. I can’t even.

20140111_202012

I plopped four (for the sake of my photo shoot – I really ate about 11) on my husband’s Grams’ china and had them with my finest bottle of Sav Blanc (HAHA my finest is Trader Joe’s).

20140111_202039_20140111210604046

This was a lovely reward to a long week.

20140111_201957

Here is the recipe, if you need it. It’s SO simple and honestly, it’s one of the best things I’ve ever eaten.

http://www.plainchicken.com/2011/09/ile-de-france-cheese-baked-brie-bites.html

Enjoy and thank you for your prayers!

Kristin

Leave a Reply

