Five Years of Wedded Happiness

   I have found the one my soul loves

Five years ago today, I married my best friend. It was a perfect (yet, surreal) day (that started off with bacon sliders…as any good wedding day should). We had a sort of backyard reception following a courthouse wedding, only a handful of friends and family there. Just what we wanted.

We ate our beautiful wedding cake that my Mom made for us, topped by the mouse married couple (hilarious) wedding topper she and my Dad had on their own wedding cake.

Sprinkles in my Lunchbox Wedding Cake 2

It was delicious…dense (I think wedding cakes should be dense) vanilla cake, raspberry filling, smooth buttercream frosting. I still remember it, even though it was five years ago.

Sprinkles in my Lunchbox Wedding Cake 1

When we said “For better or worse”, we meant it. I can’t possibly be an easy person to live with, with my OCD-like tendencies and ever-present anxieties. Not only does my husband “put up” with them, he helps me see the humor in them. That’s not an easy thing to do (or deal with). With the challenges of being parents to two boys under 4, health scares from both them AND us, day to day stresses…yes, we’ve seen some better or worse. But I always feel like we can get through them. My husband has always been that proverbial rock for me….my cool, cool cucumber, my chicken whose feathers are rarely ruffled. Such a stark contrast to my often frazzled state.

Me and You

I am so grateful for these last five years. We’ve had so much fun. It’s awesome to be married to your best friend. We’ve laughed together, cried together, had two beautiful boys together. We were meant for each other.

Sure, life is hard. We have ups and downs. That’s just how it goes. But I am so grateful for him and the life we have built together.

1 Corinthians 13

I a SO far from a perfect spouse. So I feel extra blessed to have such a kind, caring, wonderful, thoughtful, funny, best friend as spouse. My husband shows me more patience with me (with our children, with our life) than I can ever show in a lifetime. I am so grateful for him.

He’s the peanut butter to my jelly, the sprinkles to my donut, the bacon to my eggs, the frosting to my cupcake, the gravy to my mashed potatoes, the milk to my cookies, the syrup to my pancakes, the sprinkles in my lunchbox (I could go on and on with food imagery!).

He’s my everything.

THANK YOU, Husband, for these wonderfully, fulfilling, beautiful five years together, as husband and wife. Here’s to our lifetime of happiness!

I love you, Chicken.

Kristin

One thought on “Five Years of Wedded Happiness

Leave a Reply

