Rainy Day Reflections

School was canceled for Bigs today, due to a funeral being held at our church (which is also our school). The funeral was expected to be attended by up to 5,000 people. The person who passed away was a beloved, young police officer who died in the line of duty.

Normally, I love Bigs’ school days. It gives me a few hours of peace and quiet less chaos. Today, however, I am grateful for an extra day of chaos, of chasing after my two precious boys, running errands, breaking up brotherly fights, cutting food into teeny bite sized pieces, and implementing time outs.

For the Fallen Officer was once (and always will be, I can imagine) someone’s precious little boy. It’s very tragic, sad situations like these that help me to remember to enjoy the little moments with my boys, no matter how hard the every days can be.

I thank my God always when I remember you in my prayers.

– Philemon 1:4

Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

– 1 Thessalonians 5:18

Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.

-James 1:17

20140327_104607

Today for lunch, I made a brunch. I made french toast bites and fruit (with pieces of cheese for Smalls). The boys cleaned their plates.

PhotoGrid_1395937274035

Have a blessed, THANK-FILLED day and if you can, say a prayer for the family, friends, and colleagues of this fallen officer?

God bless,

Kristin

Leave a Reply

