A Lap Lesson

mother-loves

Last night, my youngest son Smalls had a lot of trouble getting to sleep. He’s usually out within 20 minutes tops. Last night, it took him maybe an hour and a half. I am not sure what is ailing him, although he’s got a teeny weeny tooth coming in. It could be that. Or whatever else ails 20 month olds. He would be crying and whining, and I’d go in to check on him. The second I’d walk next to his crib, my hands resting on his chest, he’d stop crying. The second I’d leave, he’d start back up again. I finally decided to rock him in the 100 year old rocking chair my Grandmother’s Mom rocked her in. He clutched his Koko (a lovey) and his Baba (his word for “brother”, and a word he calls his blankie, the same kind his older brother has) tightly, and just stared into my eyes, our souls connected, as we sat in a comfortable silence. I smiled at him and he started giggling. We had a silly moment. I asked him if he was ready to be put back in bed and he said, “Rock!” (a word I didn’t even know he had in his vocabulary). It filled overflowed my heart. After more rocking, I offered to put him back in bed and he agreed, “Bed!”.  After I gently placed him in his crib and walked out, he starting crying again. We went through this several times until he tuckered himself out.

To be needed by your child is one of the greatest feelings, and to be able to fulfill your child’s needs is an even better feeling. My oldest son, who is almost 4, has never been a snuggler. I cherish the moments where he asks to be rocked because they are so few and far between. Although, he is not one to really need that lap time, I hope to alway be able to provide “Mama’s Lap” to him, no matter how old he is. And I hope my little one never stops needing to cuddle withe me.

I want to be there, not only emotionally, financially, and with general aid, but physically for my two precious boys. I want to always be able to provide that lap. And I strive to be a Biblical Mother and example to my sons.

My beautiful friend Corin is a blogger, a published author, and a great friend to me. She is also a busy, sweet Mommy to three kids. She just wrote a blog post titled, “A Place in Mama’s Lap”. My references to a “Mama’s Lap” are from her blog post. Please check out her blog and that post in particular. It really touched my heart, as do so many of her posts. It is so encouraging to me, as a Mother and as a woman.

http://www.corinhughs.com/family/2014/04/07/place-mamas-lap/

Kristin

Leave a Reply

