Ink Slip

I have a small obsession. Well, it turns out a have a LOT of obsessions. But this isn’t about that. This is about this. I love the Giant Squid. It fascinates me. It’s gross, it’s huge, it’s elusive, it’s got a wonky eye. It’s so cool. My husband and I went to Washington D.C. for our wedding anniversary over five years ago. The one non-patriotic thing I insisted on us seeing was the Giant Squid in the Natural History Museum. It was too neat. Our master bedroom is done in shimmery turquoises, sandy tans, and creamy whites…and accented with a beautiful painting of the Giant Squid that a friend commissioned for me. Don’t judge. It’s beautiful.

Anyways, I don’t (quite sadly) have a squid (giant or otherwise) cookie cutter. I do, however, have an octopus. And that is what I used to make Bigs’ lunch for Deep Sea Day at school.

wpid-photogrid_1398183107945.jpg

I made an octopus-shaped PB&J. I sprayed gold and green for a shimmery, under the water effect, and used eyeballs. I also packed corn, goldfish and whale crackers, and fig newtons for dessert, which I later found out he does not like. And he thinks the insides are made of chocolate. Poor thing, to think there is chocolate he didn’t like.

High eight!

Sea creature joke.

I love a good (or bad) pun, what can I say!

Have a blessed day,

Kristin

 

Leave a Reply

