Sweet Sweet Summertime

What a weird week it’s turned out to be. In between all the playing at parks, eating good Mother’s Day food, and spending time with family, both my boys got sick with two different things and I lost my voice. We even had to skip church on Mother’s Day. But I was “stuck” at home with the two very reasons I got to celebrate that day, so I was a happy, voice-less Mama!  The Friday before, we tried out a new park. I couldn’t even get a picture of Bigs because he was on the go the whole time!

wpid-20140509_105234.jpg

Smalls had fun but got tuckered out by the end.

wpid-20140509_121211.jpg

Poor, tired, little fella. ❤

We were supposed to travel to attend my cousin’s graduation party the next day, but that night on the park day, Bigs got a fever. We were able to get it down but he still wasn’t feeling well. And I had woken up with absolutely no voice. So no one was feeling well enough to travel. We rested at home and puttered around town when cabin fever set in. We ate a nice BBQ lunch.

wpid-20140510_113700.jpg

I ate a smoked chicken salad sandwich (which I actually had to take home because I was so full from my sides!), roasted corn, sweet potatoes, and bananas foster bread pudding. You heard that part correctly. Seriously yum. The boys shared a scoop of house-made cotton candy ice cream and I took this little baby home to enjoy while they were napping.

wpid-collage_20140513202955706_20140513203041531.jpg

Chocolate cake with chocolate chips and vanilla (tinted pink for Mother’s Day) buttercream.

After naps, we went to one of our favorite stores – Christmas Tree Shops. I was THRILLED when they brought one down here. They had all their summer stuff out. It made me so happy to just walk around the aisles of water tubes, canopies, margarita-shaped strung lights, and seasonal summer foods. And I, a sucker for ALL things flamingo and watermelon, had to get these (cheap!) chevron flamingo placemats and watermelon cutting board. So fresh!

wpid-20140510_200208.jpg

I’d say we made the most of the day, even though we weren’t feeling up to snuff.

The next day was Mother’s Day. I felt so very blessed to be able to celebrate this day. My boys showered me with love…AND they slept in for the first time in AGES! It was so nice! They took me to Perkin’s for breakfast, one of our favorite places to eat. It was crowded with all kinds of people.

Smalls was in a “mood”. I should mention that this sort of mood comes out every time we dine out now. I suppose he’s in that phase (hopefully, short-lived) where we are “those people” at the restaurants with the screaming, spoon-throwing, crayon-chucking, food-smearing kid.

This too shall pass.

Our lovely server brought me a warm strawberry muffin, which I was sweet enough to share with my boys. They wanted to dig in so quickly that my picture came out blurry.

wpid-20140511_092418.jpg

It was really good.

Inspired buy said muffin, I ordered the Strawberry French Toast.

wpid-20140511_093116.jpg

It came out missing whipped cream, but the server brought it out shortly after.

wpid-20140511_093349.jpg

My husband ordered an omelette with tomatoes and sausage and potatoes. It also came with pancakes, which he gave to me and I ate later for dinner.

wpid-20140511_093100.jpg

The pancakes were delicious, even heated up later.

wpid-20140511_093115.jpg

Bigs ordered his usual – Sprinkle Pancakes! This boy knows what he wants! He also got bacon.

wpid-20140511_093056.jpg

I ordered the French Toast sticks for Smalls, thinking he’d easily hold and eat them.

wpid-20140511_093103.jpg

I didn’t anticipate that he’d want my whipped cream and smear the table with it, as I imagine a baby Picasso would have done.

wpid-20140511_094605.jpg

This mess was the tip of the ice berg.

It was still lovely, albeit slightly stressful.

When we got home, we went swimming. It was a beautiful day and Bigs was eager to show off his new swimming skills.

wpid-20140511_110321.jpg

It was a great Mother’s Day. I am so very blessed.

On Monday, after swim lessons, the boys and I went jogging. Now that I have a double jogger, I am able to take them with me. We did three miles (half jog, half speed walk) around a nearby lake.

wpid-20140512_091558.jpg

We did stop to feed the turtles and fish some stale popcorn.

wpid-20140512_084728.jpg

About seven turtles came up and went berserk-o on the popcorn.

wpid-20140512_084738.jpg

And that night, I made a really yummy dinner (not an everyday occurrence in my household). I roasted chicken and made a BBQ sauce from scratch (ketchup, garlic, onion powder, Worcestershire sauce, brown sugar, ACV). I served it with some dumpy, gross GF, DF cornbread I made from scratch without a recipe, corn, peas, and a fruit salad.

wpid-20140513_172847.jpg

It was still a successful meal.

Well. That caught us up to only Monday. And it’s already almost Thursday! Hope you’ve had a great week!

Blessings!

Kristin

 

 

Leave a Reply

