Snowballs & Meatballs

It has been HOT. Like, fry-an-egg-on-the-sidewalk, bake-a-cookie-outside, I’m-melting HOT. Super hot.

To keep “cool”, I made indoor snow for my boys! I found an easy recipe on Pinterest and already had the ingredients. You take shaving cream (must be cream, not gel) and mix it with cornstarch. It took a while for me to get the right consistency, but it finally came together. The boys had so much fun playing with it and squishing it. Well, Bigs did. Smalls liked sticking his plastic spoon in it (so as not to get it on his hands).

wpid-20140609_111120.jpg

And today, to wallow in our own sweat to beat the heat (what were we thinking!), we went to the local zoo and splash pad with some friends.

wpid-20140610_104014.jpg

We saw the rhinos, who were in their pond, trying to stay cool.

wpid-20140610_104522.jpg

We saw the butterfly garden.

wpid-20140610_104553.jpg

We watched the giraffes play and eat their…whatever giraffes eat.

wpid-20140610_104332.jpg

And then we trucked it to the splash pad, which was near the entrance. The heat was almost unbearable. We didn’t even see all the animals. It was just too hot.

Smalls sat the splash pad out, as I thought he might. The girls and Bigs had fun. We ate our sweaty picnic lunch and called it a day.

At least the boys got a great (long) nap. 🙂 That makes the heat worth it!

For dinner tonight, I made meatballs…with a twist. I was inspired by the Vietnamese date my husband and I went on last weekend. I used some of the same flavors from that meal in tonight’s meatballs.

wpid-20140610_172708.jpg

I mixed tamari sauce (GF!), rice wine vinegar, peanut butter, fresh minced garlic, cilantro, sesame oil, pepper, and onion powder. I then added almost a pound and a half of minced pork, one slightly beaten egg, and some cornflake crumbs, and shaped into balls. I baked at 400F for about 15 minutes. I served it with brown rice and a freshly cut pineapple (Costco whole pineapples are both cheap and delicious!!). Everyone enjoyed it. Well, not everyone. Smalls squished it all into smithereens. Whatever.

wpid-20140610_172724.jpg

Another successful summer day under our belts!

Blessings,

Kristin

One thought on “Snowballs & Meatballs

  1. We were at the zoo last Thursday and it was awful, so hot. All the animals were hiding because it was too hot for them to move and every kid camp in the area was at the splash pad so my kids wouldn’t attempt it. We were all gross when we got home. No more park days until fall!

Leave a Reply

