Summer Shenanigans

We’ve been up to our old tricks again – doing summery things and eating lots of food. It’s how we do.

The week after my 30th birthday, earlier this month, my sweet friends took me to dinner at one of our favorite places. We got all fancy.

wpid-20140612_180220.jpg

I wore my “birthday cake” shoes that I got for my birthday a few years back (they are just so fun and the colors that I’d want on a birthday cake). I wore a dress that I found at Goodwill, and my necklace was a gift from a friend. I love getting fancy.

For apps, we shared the Mezze Platter (muhammarra, edamame hummus, goat-cheese stuffed peppadews, fried feta, marinated artichoke hearts, sundried tomato, and grilled pita).

wpid-20140612_192344.jpg

I cannot get enough of the goat-cheese stuffed peppadews.

For dinner, I ordered the Vegetarian Plate and shared with a friend, and she shared her Moroccan Lemon Chicken.

wpid-20140612_195551.jpg

wpid-20140612_195558.jpg

And then they sang to me over flourless chocolate cake and ice cream.

wpid-20140612_203953.jpg

They sure knew how to make a girl feel special. ❀

The next day during naptime, I enjoyed one of my birthday presents with some trashy mags.

It was a good time.

wpid-img_20140614_095127.jpg

We celebrated my wonderful Husband on Father’s Day. I made him turkey burgers.

wpid-20140615_180941.jpg

His request. πŸ™‚

On the next Saturday, I took my boys on a date while my Husband had to work. My Bigs was SO excited to go on a date, knowing it’s something that Mommy & Daddy do, and something that Mommy does with her girlfriends. He was beside himself. I took them to Panera.

wpid-20140614_173259.jpg

I haven’t had it in forever. I got the Thai chicken salad and wild rice soup. I got grilled cheese and yogurt (quite heavy on the dairy, I am now realizing lol!). The boys were fairly well behaved. We went to Old Navy afterwards for 50% off jorts and $0.25 bouncy balls. The bouncy balls made the boys’ night!

wpid-20140614_182300.jpg

I’d call it a successful date night. πŸ˜€

During the week, we went to a park playdate for a little friend’s 2nd birthday. It was so very hot out, but we had a great time.

wpid-20140618_112453.jpg

And lastly, I made some reeeeallly delicious pancakes for dinner last Friday. I used a GF mix that I picked up on clearance at Target. I made it DF and added fresh blueberries.

I served it with turkey bacon.

wpid-20140620_173824.jpg

I even tried one of those Pinterest ideas where you put pancake batter on the bacon. I wouldn’t say it turned out like it does on Pinterest. πŸ™‚

wpid-20140620_173502.jpg

I still ate it.

All caught up! Have a great weekend!

Blessings, Kristin

 

Leave a Reply

