Deli-ssimo!

In the same grain that I love cafeteria food, I also love deli food. There is something exciting to me about walking into a deli. For tomorrow’s VPK lunch, I made Bigs’ a quintessential delicatessen lunch.

wpid-photogrid_1409172890430.jpg

I made a turkey and cheddar on whole wheat, and used little skewers (with stickers on the ends!) to keep them together. In the middle of those are GF puffs (to take the place of fries or chips). I packed little pickles (my Bigs LOVES pickles), applesauce, and three Trader Joe’s ginger cookies for dessert.

Yummo.

For my Smalls, I wasn’t as creative. It so far seems quite lost on him. Perhaps next year, he’ll appreciate having a “special” lunch.

wpid-photogrid_1409173117969.jpg

I made a PB&J on whole wheat, packed some of the GF puffs, an applesauce, and a few Trader Joe’s Cinnamon Schoolbook Cookies. Sort of like Bigs’ deli lunch, but pared down a bit.

All this deli talk is making me want to walk into a TooJay’s…for you know, a B&W cookie or something.

Have a blessed day!

Kristin

Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it.

– Proverbs 22:6

Leave a Reply

