The Great Pumpkin [Lunchbox]

I am one of those people who never finds it too early for pumpkin season to start. Some might call us annoying, others might call us one of their own. I love the start of this new holiday season, and I think September is an appropriate month to bring out everything pumpkin. Dontcha think?

For my Bigs’ lunch at school tomorrow, I brought it allll out.

wpid-photogrid_1410813258548.jpg

I made a sliced chicken and cheddar sandwich (Applegate Naturals) with a little bit of mayonnaise. I used a pumpkin shaped cookie cutter to make the shape and used a sharp knife to make the face details. I used my Food Writers to add some color (orange and green) to the pumpkin. I packed carrot chips and ranch dip, seasoned corn (in a pumpkin shaped silicon mold), homemade cinnamon applesauce, and a green (lime) Tootsie Roll for dessert.

I think he’ll love it.

I made the applesauce earlier today. It was SO easy. I didn’t follow any recipe, and didn’t feel I even needed one (it was that easy). Here’s what I did:

Wash and peel (I ate the peels!) however many apples you have (I had about a 10 small ones). Core and slice them. Put them in your crockpot with a few tablespoons each of water and cinnamon. Set on high for a few hours. I stirred it and the apples were so broken down (a good thing), that they mashed all together. Yum. You can also keep the peels on, but my boys aren’t fond of that.

wpid-img_20140915_081239.jpg

The house smelled like Fall. It was wonderful. And I love an easy recipe.

wpid-img_20140915_112641.jpg

Have a blessed day!

Kristin

Leave a Reply

