Halloween Muddy Puppy – a last minute Halloween dessert recipe

wpid-img_20141031_140228_20141031141254314.jpg

Do you call it “Muddy Buddy” or “Puppy Chow”? I grew up with both names for this dessert. I like them both. I can’t decide which one I want to call it, so for now, I call it “Muddy Puppy”. It seems to work out.

Do you need a quick last minute Halloween party recipe that is sure to please? You’ve come to the right place! This recipe can be made in under 20 minutes (add a few to that to the drying phase) and contains very simple ingredients. And it’s addicting. I’m not so sure that’s a good thing though.

wpid-20141031_135240_20141031141105175.jpg

Halloween Muddy Puppy

Serves: a ton

8 C Chex cereal

1 C semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/4 C butter

1/2 C peanut butter

1 1/2 C powdered sugar

Candy (I used candy corn, Kit Kats, and mini M&M’s)

*You can also add vanilla (I didn’t and it tastes fine without)

*This can be made gluten and dairy free with the base ingredients (GF Chex, DF butter) – just make sure your candies are, as well

Put the Chex in a large bowl. Melt the chocolate chips, butter, and peanut butter (microwave for 1 minute, stir, microwave in 30 second increments to ensure it’s completely melted). At this point, you could add vanilla. Pour over your Chex and stir gently. Place in a Ziploc bag and pour in powdered sugar. Shake shake shake! Spread onto a large pan, covered in wax or parchment paper. Dry and cool. Add your candy.

**Caveat: I was in a rush and shook the powdered sugar and Chex WITH my candy. It all tastes the same, but your mix would be more vibrant if you followed the above instructions, which I failed to do. Which is typical.

Have a blessed Halloween!

Enjoy!

Kristin

Leave a Reply

